Join us as we present the inaugural Ballarat International Foto Biennale Martin Kantor Prize, made possible with the generous support of the Dara Foundation. Named in honour of the late portrait photographer Martin Kantor, the $15,000 acquisitive prize is awarded for a photographic artwork of a significant, living Australian in the fields of art, letters, science, sport or politics. The exhibition will showcase the winner and finalists.

About the Sponsor:

The Dara Foundation has graciously sponsored this award in memory of the late Martin Kantor. Kantor was a photographer and philanthropist who was known for his arresting portraits of famous musicians and artists like Iggy Pop, Howard Arkley, painter Adam Cullen and conceptual artist Dale Frank. His image of Mark Seymour, the lead singer of Hunters and Collectors, was used by the band for an album cover and is a classic representation of Australian rock and roll. Kantor founded the well-known St Kilda gallery Brightspace and was a strong supporter of indigenous and environmental causes.


Naomi Cass | Director of The Centre for Contemporary Photography
Isobel Crombie | Assistant Director, Curatorial and Collection Management at The National Gallery of Victoria
Leonard Vary | CEO of The Myer Foundation

The Finalists:

  • *Elli Bardas - WINNER*

    Vicki Vidor OAM

  • Chris Budgeon

    Dr. Genevieve Goulding

  • Brian Cassey

    'Noel Pearson'

  • David Darcy

    Bryan Brown

  • Tamara Dean

    Erik Jensen, Burning Palms

  • George Fetting

    Lee Lin Chin

  • Hilary Finch

    The Intrepid Alchemist. Portrait of Barry Humphries

  • James Geer

    Bill Henson

  • John Gollings

    Barrie Kosky

  • Luke Hemer

    Scott Hicks

  • Pia Johnson

    Tim Rogers

  • Tony Kearney

    Linda Syddick Tjungkiya Napaltjarri

  • Helga Leunig

    Courtney Barnett

  • Robyn MacRae

    Peter Batey OAM

  • Rod McNicol

    Jack Charles, 2017

  • Ferne Millen

    With Archie


    Nick Cave

  • Ilona Nelson

    Patricia Piccinini

  • Emma Phillips

    Wil Anderson

  • Emma Phillips

    The Game Changer

  • Claudio Raschella

    Frank Ford

  • Matt Ray

    The Origin of Sex

  • Pippa Samaya

    Anti Gravity

  • Jacqui Stockdale


  • Christian Thompson

    This Brutal World

  • Tobias Titz

    Andrew Chapman AO

  • Peter Whyte

    Fiona Hall

  • Elizabeth Yore


Please select an entry time

  • July 16, 2017 - September 16, 2017
    8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friend log in